Finding my Fitness Groove

I would like to be a runner.  Everyone says it is the best way to drops pounds and tone everything from the neck down.  Alas, I have Franken-ankle.  I was in a car accident when I was 19 and frankly, I was lucky to walk away with my foot still attached to my leg. 

I have tried to start running several times in my adult life.  I ran for a while in college with a friend and have tried to start the Couch to 5K program twice.  I have some success and then reality crashes the party with extreme ankle pain and the inability to walk for a few days.

Since I can’t be a runner, I have had to find other ways to get fit.  I am always looking for a challenge and tend to get bored easily.  I started Tae Kwondo two years ago, and that has provided the mental challenge I am looking for, but not necessarily the body composition changes I seek.  Following my husband, I started the Stronglifts 5×5 weight lifting program.

I have NEVER stepped foot in the “guy” side of the gym.  I was always intimidated by the big weight plates and the clanging loud noises.  I am conquering my fears and lifting the big weights.  This program is simple to follow: 5 different exercises, 5 sets of 5, add 5 pounds each time the exercise is completed.  I have finished 7 weeks and 5 weeks to go.  So far I am pretty please with the changes in my body composition.  I feel stronger and more confident.  Maybe I’m finding my groove.

The numbers:

  • Squats, 135 lbs
  • Overhead Press, 65 lbs
  • Deadlift, 150 lbs
  • Bench Press, 80 lbs
  • Barbell Row, 85 lbs
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding my Fitness Groove

  1. WoW, This is really a great topic & I honestly appreciate with you. I wish, you will describe about it more in your next posting and I am really waiting for that!! Thanks = 29 times! 🙂

  2. Running is not for everyone. There isn’t one exercise for everyone. So great you are finding something that you enjoy and that’s working for you. I would take lifting over running any day! 😉

Leave a Reply

