My Morning Sundae Smoothie

In my search for a different breakfast option, I fell back on my old standby–the smoothie.  In the past, I would make these with milk, whey protein powder and some fruit.  With my new eating challenge, two of the three ingredients were forbidden.  What to do? What to do?

Consult Google, of course!  I wanted something without dairy, with protein to fill me up, and some fruit for flavor.  I crawled through many different recipes and while I found several ideas none of them really fit what I was looking for.  So, I Frankenstein-ed a recipe.  (Is that even a word?  You know what I mean.)

No dairy?  Add vanilla coconut milk.  Protein source? Add egg white powder (raw eggs make me squeamish) and almond butter.   If you already have vanilla and almond flavor, you might as well add strawberries and bananas to make a banana split!

The ingredients for my Morning Sundae Smoothie are

  • 1 cup coconut milk (I like the unsweetened vanilla flavor, but whatever rocks your boat)
  • 1/8 cup egg white powder
  • 2 T Almond Butter
  • 2/3 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1 small frozen banana

Add the first three ingredients to a blender and give a whirl to mix egg white powder completely.  Then add the fruit and give it another whirl.  This makes 2 kid size servings or 1 adult serving.

This is a mix of carbs, protein and good fats that got my day off to a great start!

This entry was posted in Paleo, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Morning Sundae Smoothie

  1. Thanks for sharing your recipe on Chowstalker!

Leave a Reply

