An Eating Challenge

I have been thinking a lot about food and eating and what works for me.  I know I should drop some weight, not to be thin but to be healthy.  Even more important, I need to adjust my habits toward food.  I need to be more intentional about what I’m eating.

I have thought about what has worked for me in the past to lose weight: starvation and insane exercise (I’m looking at you, 1991), major psychological trauma (newborn, newly divorced, unemployed and move 500 miles all at the same time), and the HCG diet.  Now those first two options I have no desire to repeat.  Been there, done that, earned the badges.  After doing some more research, I no longer think HCG is a valid option for me.  I have a pre-cancerous condition that may be aggravated by additional hormones.  However, the food options that are available during the HCG diet are essentially lean meat, vegetables, and some fruit.  There are also a small amounts of grains and dairy.  If eating this way before worked for me, could I make it work again?

This train of thought led me to the Paleo Diet.  I am not the type of person to jump on the nearest bandwagon and follow along.  I am methodical and measured.  I research.  I started out by reading “The Paleo Solution” by Robb Wolf.  It made sense.  Eat clean food, get rid of the chemicals, and drop the grains and dairy (both of which make me feel ill).  At the end of the book, Robb issues a challenge.  Try it for 30 days and see if you feel better.  Anyone can do anything for 30 days.

I decided to take on the challenge.  I started on Sunday, August 21 and for the next 30 days I will follow the rules.  I will eat lean meat, lots of vegetables, some fruit, and some nuts.  I will avoid processed foods, grains in all forms, dairy in all forms, and sugar.  There is mixed feedback on alcohol, so I will limit myself to clear alcohol and red wine.

Hopefully, this will go well.  I am hoping for some weight loss and to just feel better.

This entry was posted in Paleo. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

